Australian Government funding to help the Northern Territory’s public schools become more autonomous

Tuesday 16 September 2014


The Minister for Education, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP and the Northern Territory Minister for Education, the Hon Peter Chandler MLA have announced that the Australian Government will invest $1.61 million to help establish the Northern Territory’s first Independent Public Schools and increase local decision making in all government schools.

All of the Northern Territory’s 154 government schools will benefit through the initiative, with up to 15 government schools expected to become Independent Public Schools by 2017.

To find out more, visit the Students First website.